DocHaven is a shared library for your documents as an alternative to normal folders on your PC or file server. Your documents are permanently backed up and you bring take them out of the backup as you need them. You store your documents in 'Projects', booking them out and checking them back in. Only one person can take out a project at once so you always know which is the latest version. Others can view a project that is out, but not change it. Every time a Project is put away, it keeps the old versions automatically. So not only do you have the latest version, but if make a mistake in a Project, you can always go back to a previous version. Each time a person tries to take out a Project they are verified. They must be either the owner of the Project or a member of the group to which the Project belongs. DocHaven compresses the Projects before storing them, saving your hard drive space. Status, dates, billing, keywords, logs and Project Management functions are included for each Project. It links with the CRMHaven, ScreenHaven, CashHaven and TwitHaven modules. All HMS modules can be run any of three ways - from one standalone PC (Macintosh, Windows or Linux) to a LAN to a service hosted entirely on the 'Cloud'.
What is new in this release:
- [New] Compatible with MacOS X Mountain Lion.
- [New] You can now display a list of all Projects you have access to, not just those that are out on your desktop. Projects show blue if they are out on your computer, red if they are out on another computer and yellow if they are available on the server. Even if the Project is not out on your computer you can see a list of the document names, but you cannot open the documents until you take the project out.
- [New] You can now create a new Blank or Template Project from the Options menu.
- [New] The Documents window now only shows the Projects you have access to and no longer shows other Projects in the DocHaven folder belonging to others.
- [New] Most menu functions have now been placed inside the Actions and Options buttons. Actions work on only the highlighted documents.
- [Fix] When exporting each transfer is now treated as a separate job allowing accidental exports to be removed before they begin and the total files progress bar is a truer reflection of the transfer.
- [Fix] The Zip files created are now more compatible with the unzipping on MacOS X.
- [Fix] The display of Mac Creator and Type codes has been removed from the Get Info and Preferences windows since certain codes were causing problems. They are still stored when projects are put away, but have been deprecated by Apple. It is recommended you search for Extensions or Kinds instead.
- [Fix] Reveal in Finder now highlights the file itself, not just opens the folder.
- [Fix] Reports have been removed. If you need this functionality, open the Backup CSV files in a spreadsheet.
- [Fix] Renaming a file or folder now presents an editable text field rather than a blank edit box.
- [Fix] Fixed the bug where sometimes the transferred file name appeared blank in the Transfers window.
- [Fix] Displays a default icon for Linux documents in the QuickLook window (doc, xls, pdf, txt, html from MacOS)
- [Fix] Displays a default icon for Linux documents in the Documents window (doc, xls, pdf, txt, html from MacOS)
- [Fix] Buttons no longer show a tick next to the last chosen item. This stops this option being chosen if the user presses down on a button but moves off before letting go of the mouse.
Free trials are limited to 1000 Mbytes of projects, 1000 Clients and 1000 screen images. Free accounts cannot share data via groups.